Skip to content
Pricing: Freemium
Editor rating: 3.6/5
Updated: September 2026

Spelling and grammar free; Pro US$9.95/month and Teams US$7.95/user/month as displayed on 14 September 2026, billing term not stated in the page HTML (the page offers monthly and yearly plans). Works in Google Docs, Word, browsers and a web app.

Editor's take: Cheap paraphrasing-first assistant; Pro US$9.95 a month as displayed, billing term not stated in the HTML — Sohail Akhtar

Top Alternatives
Editor-selected listing
Independent & reader-supported

Editor's Verdict

Official Review
Outwrite is the paraphrasing-first budget option: free for spelling and grammar, Pro displayed at US$9.95 a month, with the billing term to confirm.
3.6 / 5.0
Editor Rating

Reviewed by Sohail Akhtar

Lead Editor & Founder

Pros

What we like

  • Free plan for the basics
  • Low displayed price
  • Paraphrasing built in

Cons

Limitations

  • Billing term for the displayed prices not readable
  • Fewer integrations than Grammarly
  • Smaller feature set

Pricing

PlanDetails
EssentialEssential – $0, spelling and grammar
ProPro – US$9.95/month as displayed (billing term not stated in the HTML; listed on 14 September 2026) – paraphrasing, style, readability, plagiarism tools
TeamsTeams – US$7.95/user/month as displayed (billing term not stated; listed on 14 September 2026) – consolidated billing

Outwrite has a free Essential plan for spelling and grammar. Its pricing page on 14 September 2026 displayed Pro at US$9.95 per month and Teams at US$7.95 per user per month. The page offers monthly and yearly billing, but the HTML did not state which term those figures apply to; confirm the monthly rate on the vendor's page before budgeting.

What is Outwrite?

Quick Summary

Outwrite checks spelling and grammar for free and sells paraphrasing, style and readability tools on Pro, with a Teams plan per user. Its pricing page on 14 September 2026 displayed Pro at US$9.95 a month and Teams at US$7.95 per user a month, with a monthly-or-yearly toggle whose selected term was not readable in the HTML.

Outwrite pitches itself to students, professionals and teams: the free Essential plan fixes spelling and grammar, Pro adds paraphrasing, passive-voice rewrites, readability and plagiarism tools, and Teams adds consolidated billing. On 14 September 2026 its pricing page displayed Pro at US$9.95 a month and Teams at US$7.95 per user a month. The page has a monthly-or-yearly toggle and says you can switch between the two from account settings, but the HTML our checker read did not label which term those two figures belong to, so treat them as the lower (yearly) rates until confirmed on outwrite.com. It runs in Google Docs, Microsoft Word, browser extensions and a web app. Explore this category.

Associated Tags

paraphrasing tool, grammar checker, readability checker, grammarly alternative, google docs writing assistant

Key Features

Spelling and grammar on the free plan
Paraphrasing and passive-voice rewrites
Readability and eloquence suggestions
Plagiarism checks on Pro
Google Docs, Word, browser and web app

Target Audience

Who should use Outwrite?

Students and casual writersGoogle Docs usersTeams that want one invoice
Real Use Cases

How professionals leverage Outwrite – Grammar and Paraphrasing Assistant with a Free Plan

Discover practical workflows and real-world scenarios where Outwrite delivers key solutions.

01

A student rewrites an essay draft for readability

02

A professional runs Outwrite in Google Docs instead of Grammarly

03

A small team consolidates billing on Teams

Buyer's guide

12 Best AI Writing Tools in 2026 — With the Real Free Limits

Grammarly's free plan is 100 AI prompts a month. Rytr gives 10,000 characters. Sudowrite has no free plan at all. The exact limit for each, with check dates.

Read the full comparison →
Freemium
Grammarly logo

Grammarly

AI writing assistant for grammar, spelling, tone and rewrites that works across browsers, Word, Docs and email — free tier included.

Freemium
Linguix logo

Linguix

Grammar, rewriting and shortcuts in a browser extension. Free forever; Pro $11.67/month billed $140 annually (monthly-billing rate not readable in our check; the page says annual saves 61%).

Freemium
ProWritingAid logo

ProWritingAid

Editing reports and story critiques for authors. Free (2 report runs a day); Premium $30/month billed monthly, about $10/month on yearly billing per the page's own 67% saving; Premium Pro higher; lifetime plans offered; 3-day money-back on yearly and lifetime.

Freemium
Captions logo

Captions

AI video editor with captions in 100+ languages, AI actors and dubbing. Free; Max $24.99/month; Scale $69.99, $139.99 and $279.99/month for 1x, 2x and 4x usage; monthly and yearly billing offered, the term of the displayed prices not stated; credits roll over up to three months.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Outwrite free?
Yes, the Essential plan fixes spelling and grammar for free. Paraphrasing, readability and plagiarism tools are on Pro.
How much does Outwrite cost?
Pro was displayed at US$9.95 a month and Teams at US$7.95 per user a month on 14 September 2026; the page offers monthly and yearly billing and the HTML did not label the term, so confirm before paying month to month.
Outwrite or Grammarly?
Grammarly is the more capable and better-integrated assistant; Outwrite is cheaper and leads with paraphrasing. For essays and Google Docs, Outwrite is a fair budget pick.