Skip to content
Pricing: Freemium
Editor rating: 3.7/5
Updated: September 2026

AI video editor with captions in 100+ languages, AI actors and dubbing. Free; Max $24.99/month; Scale $69.99, $139.99 and $279.99/month for 1x, 2x and 4x usage; monthly and yearly billing offered, the term of the displayed prices not stated; credits roll over up to three months.

Editor's take: Strong mobile-first AI editing with a free tier; Max $24.99 a month, billing term of the displayed price not stated — Sohail Akhtar

Top Alternatives
Editor-selected listing
Independent & reader-supported

Editor's Verdict

Official Review
Captions is the phone-first alternative: captions, AI edits and AI actors from $24.99 a month as displayed, with a free tier for traditional editing.
3.7 / 5.0
Editor Rating

Reviewed by Sohail Akhtar

Lead Editor & Founder

Pros

What we like

  • Free tier with real editing tools
  • Best-in-class mobile captions
  • Credits roll over

Cons

Limitations

  • Billing term of displayed prices not readable
  • Generative features are credit-metered
  • Not a transcript editor for long podcasts

Pricing

PlanDetails
FreeFree – $0, traditional editing, teleprompter, captions in 100+ languages, no AI credits
MaxMax – $24.99/month as displayed (billing term not stated; listed on 14 September 2026) – AI edit styles, AI-produced videos, digital twins, chat editor
ScaleScale – $69.99/month (1x usage), $139.99 (2x), $279.99 (4x) as displayed (billing term not stated; listed on 14 September 2026)

Captions has a free plan with traditional editing tools and captions but no AI usage credits. Its pricing page on 14 September 2026 listed Max at $24.99 per month and Scale at $69.99, $139.99 and $279.99 per month for 1x, 2x and 4x AI usage. The page offers monthly and yearly billing, and the HTML did not state which term those figures apply to; confirm on the vendor's page. Unused credits roll over up to three times the monthly allowance.

What is Captions?

Quick Summary

Captions is a mobile and web video editor with AI captions in 100-plus languages, AI edit styles, dubbing and generative AI actors. Its pricing page on 14 September 2026 listed a free plan, Max at $24.99 a month, and Scale at $69.99, $139.99 and $279.99 a month for one, two and four times the usage, with monthly and yearly billing offered.

Captions started as a teleprompter-and-captions phone app and became a generative editor: AI edit styles, a chat-based editor, dubbing, AI voiceover, and AI actors or digital twins that make new footage. On 14 September 2026 its pricing page listed a free plan with traditional editing tools, captions in 100-plus languages and no AI credits; Max, marked most popular, at $24.99 a month with AI edit styles, fully produced AI videos, digital twins and the chat editor; and Scale at $69.99 a month, Scale 2x at $139.99 and Scale 4x at $279.99 for one, two and four times the AI usage. The FAQ explains that yearly plans bill twelve months upfront at a discount and that monthly is available, but the HTML did not state which term the displayed figures belong to; unused credits roll over and the balance can reach three times the monthly allowance. Explore AI tools.

Associated Tags

ai video editor app, auto captions app, ai actors, ai dubbing, descript alternative for mobile

Key Features

AI captions in 100+ languages
AI edit styles and chat-based editing
AI actors, digital twins and dubbing
Teleprompter and mobile recording
Credits that roll over for up to three months

Target Audience

Who should use Captions?

Mobile-first creatorsShort-form ads with AI actorsAnyone who wants captions without a desktop editor
Real Use Cases

How professionals leverage Captions – AI Video Editing App with AI Actors and Auto Captions

Discover practical workflows and real-world scenarios where Captions delivers key solutions.

01

A creator records on a phone and publishes captioned clips the same hour

02

A marketer makes ad variations with an AI actor

03

A coach dubs a course into other languages

Free Trial
Submagic logo

Submagic

AI captions, auto-zoom, silence removal and b-roll for short-form video. Starter $19, Pro $39, Business $69 per member/month billed monthly; $12, $23, $41 billed yearly. Free trial, no card.

Freemium
Outwrite logo

Outwrite

Spelling and grammar free; Pro US$9.95/month and Teams US$7.95/user/month as displayed on 14 September 2026, billing term not stated in the page HTML (the page offers monthly and yearly plans). Works in Google Docs, Word, browsers and a web app.

Freemium
Kapwing logo

Kapwing

Browser video editor with AI subtitles, dubbing and repurposing. Free (10 credits, watermark); Pro $16/member/month billed annually ($192/year) or $24 monthly (1,000 credits); Business $50 billed annually ($600/year) or $64 monthly (4,000 credits); Enterprise custom.

Freemium
ProWritingAid logo

ProWritingAid

Editing reports and story critiques for authors. Free (2 report runs a day); Premium $30/month billed monthly, about $10/month on yearly billing per the page's own 67% saving; Premium Pro higher; lifetime plans offered; 3-day money-back on yearly and lifetime.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Captions free?
Yes, the free plan includes traditional editing, the teleprompter and captions in 100-plus languages, without AI usage credits.
How much does Captions cost?
Max $24.99 a month; Scale $69.99, $139.99 and $279.99 a month for 1x, 2x and 4x usage, as displayed on 14 September 2026. The page offers monthly and yearly billing and did not label which term those figures are.
Captions or Descript?
Descript is the desktop transcript editor for podcasts and screen recordings; Captions is the phone-first editor for social clips with AI actors. Different jobs; many creators use both.