AI Tool Directories Compared (2026): Prices, Free Options and Real Link Types
Every founder with a new AI tool asks the same question: where should I submit it, and what will it cost? The lists that answer it mostly repeat what each directory says about itself — "do-follow backlink", "DR 75", "listed in 24 hours".
So we checked. On 9 October 2026 we read the submission, pricing and advertising pages of 34 AI tool directories and launch sites, recorded every price in the directory's own words, and then did the part nobody else does: we opened real listings on each site and read the code of the "visit website" link, to see whether it is followed, nofollow, sponsored or routed through a redirect.
Key findings at a glance
• The median cheapest paid listing is $29 across the 14 directories that publish listing prices (range: $9.99 to $99).
• "Free" usually has a price. 13 directories offer a free route, but four of them require our badge or a link back on your site, and the queues we found run from 3–5 business days to five months.
• 5 of the 6 "do-follow" promises we could check matched the link code. One did not: FindMyAITool says every listing carries a do-follow link; all six listings we opened were nofollow.
• Only three directories say in writing that paid links are marked as sponsored — ToolCenter, AIToolFinder and AI Tools Directory (aitrally.com).
• 10 of the 34 could not be checked, including the two best known: There's An AI For That and Toolify refused automated readers.
How we checked
- Prices and terms come from each directory's own submit, pricing or advertise page, read on 9 October 2026. Where a page draws its prices with scripts, we read it with a second tool and read it again before quoting any price.
- Link type comes from the HTML of real listings opened the same day. We picked listings from the middle of each homepage list, not the paid or featured slots at the top, and read the
relattribute on the link to the tool's website. - "Claim" means the directory's own words. "What we found" means what the code showed.
What this is not: we did not pay for any listing, so we cannot tell you what a paid listing's link looks like where it differs from a free one. We did not measure traffic, and we do not quote traffic figures the directories publish about themselves. Prices change; every figure here is dated, and we will correct anything that has changed if you tell us.
Launch platforms
Launch sites put your product on a daily or weekly board for a few days, and keep a permanent page afterwards.
| Platform | Free option | Cheapest paid | What they say about the link | What we found in the link code |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uneed | Yes, queued: launch date "at most 5 months out"; an upvote score of 10 to stay published, 20 for the do-follow link | $14.99 Fast-track · $29.99 Skip the line | "Do-follow backlink from a 75 DR domain", guaranteed with Skip the line | Couldn't read: the website link is drawn by scripts |
| Fazier | Yes, "listed within 30 days"; "A backlink to our site is required" | $29 Lite (shown as $39 → $29) · $49 Premium | "Guaranteed high-authority backlink (DR 83+)" on Premium | Followed on 3 of 3 listings |
| Microlaunch | Not mentioned on the launch page | $39 Launch Pro (shown as $49 → $39 with a code) | "Lifetime SEO DR64+ Do-follow Backlinks" | Followed on 3 of 3 |
| TinyLaunch | Yes, standard queue | $39 Premium launch | Backlink for the top 3; "guaranteed" on Premium | 2 followed, 1 nofollow, consistent with its top-3 rule |
| Smol Launch | Yes, after adding its badge; a queue ("350 ahead of you" on the day we checked) | $19 Premium · $39 Premium+ | Paid tiers: "a permanent backlink from our DR 75 domain" | Followed on 4 of 4 |
| launched.tools | Yes, "free forever" with its badge | $9.99 one-time (marked "available soon") | Free: two dofollow links; paid: four | Followed on 2 of 2 |
| Launching Next | Yes, a "3-month wait list" | $49 express approval (published within a business day) | — | Not checked |
| DevHunt | Not stated on the pages we read | Ad spots $89–$149 a week | — | 3 of 4 nofollow, 1 followed |
| BetaList | The form sits behind a login | Boost $99 a week or $199 a month | — | Couldn't read on 3 of 4 listings |
AI tool directories
| Directory | Free option | Cheapest paid | What they say about the link | What we found in the link code |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Tools Directory (aitrally.com) | Yes, "usually within 3–5 business days" | $19 Priority Review (48 hours) | Sponsored slots "labeled clearly per Google & FTC guidelines" | Every link goes through its own /go/ redirect, marked nofollow (7 of 7) |
| AIListingTool | No: "does not offer a free listing tier" | $29 Fast Track (24-hour approval) | "Every listing comes with a do-follow backlink" | Not checked: no listings reachable from its homepage |
| ToolCenter | No free tier on the submit page | $29 Basic (48-hour review) | "Commercial links use rel="sponsored"" | The paid listing was marked sponsored; 2 others were followed |
| AITopTools | None listed | $59 Instant Listing (or $9.99 a month) | — | Not checked |
| FindMyAITool | No free plan listed | $9.99 Verification Badge plan · $79.99 Basic | "Every listing is permanent and carries a do-follow link" | nofollow on 6 of 6 listings |
| The AI Surf | Not stated | $49 Basic (published within 4 days) | — | Couldn't read |
| AIToolFinder | Yes: "Free editorial consideration costs $0", no guaranteed date | $99 sponsored tool profile | "Paid external links use rel="sponsored"" | Editorial listings followed |
| AI Tools Directory (aitoolsdirectory.com) | Yes, "a free resource"; every submission manually reviewed | Fast Track "in 3 days or less" (price not in the page text) | — | Followed (1 of 1) |
| FutureTools | Yes, a submission form | Featured listing, banners, newsletter: by quote | — | Through its own /go/ redirect, no nofollow |
| ToolPilot | Yes, but "a link back to our site is now mandatory for all free listings" | Prices are in an image we could not read | — | Followed on 2 of 2 |
| OpenTools | No: "Tool submissions require a paid listing subscription" | Not stated on the page | "Strong on-topic backlink" | Not checked |
| aitools.fyi | Its submit page is a third-party submission service, not a listing on aitools.fyi | Ads: $447 for a week, or $197 a month for a category | — | Not checked |
| Insidr | Yes, a submission form, no price stated | Promotion by request | — | Not checked |
| SaaSHub | Yes, a free listing | Featured promotion $99 a month | — | Not checked |
| DevToolLab | Not stated | Pay-per-click ads from $0.20 a click, $25 minimum | — | Not checked |
Finding 1: the typical paid listing costs $29
Fourteen directories publish a price for a paid listing. The cheapest paid entry ranges from $9.99 (launched.tools, FindMyAITool) to $99 (AIToolFinder), and the median is $29 — exactly what Fazier, AIListingTool and ToolCenter charge for their entry tier.
What the money buys varies more than the price. At the low end it is speed (a queue skipped, a 24- or 48-hour review); higher up it is placement (a homepage or category slot for a week or a month) or writing (AIListingTool's $99 review, AIToolFinder's $350 sponsored article).
Finding 2: "free" usually costs something else
Thirteen of the 24 directories we could read offer a free route. The cost moves somewhere else:
- A badge or a link back. Fazier, Smol Launch, launched.tools and ToolPilot require their badge or a link to them on your site.
- Time. Uneed assigns a date "at most 5 months out"; Launching Next has a "3-month wait list"; Fazier lists within 30 days; AI Tools Directory (aitrally.com) usually within 3–5 business days.
- No promise. AIToolFinder and aitoolsdirectory.com review free submissions with no guarantee of publication.
Five directories show no free route at all: AIListingTool, FindMyAITool, ToolCenter, AITopTools and OpenTools.
Finding 3: most link promises held up — one did not
Six directories make a "do-follow" or "backlink" promise and let us check it. Five matched: Fazier, Microlaunch, Smol Launch and launched.tools links were followed, and TinyLaunch linked exactly as its top-3 rule says.
The sixth did not. FindMyAITool's pricing page says "every listing is permanent and carries a do-follow link". All six listings we opened carried rel="nofollow". We could not tell which of those six were paid listings, so a paid listing may be treated differently — but if a followed link is the reason you are buying, check one before you pay.
Two directories send every visitor through their own redirect (/go/…) instead of linking straight to your site: AI Tools Directory (aitrally.com), which also marks it nofollow, and FutureTools.
Finding 4: only three put sponsored labelling in writing
Search engines expect paid links to be marked rel="sponsored" (or nofollow). Three directories commit to that on their own pages: ToolCenter ("Commercial links use rel="sponsored""), AIToolFinder ("paid external links use rel="sponsored"") and AI Tools Directory (aitrally.com). On ToolCenter we saw it in practice: the paid listing we opened was marked sponsored.
The ten we could not check
We would rather leave a directory out than guess its prices.
- Refused automated readers (HTTP 403): There's An AI For That, Toolify, TopAI.tools, EasyWithAI, AIToolNet.
- Did not respond: AI Scout, AI Tool Hunt, Dang.ai.
- No terms on the page: Futurepedia (its submission page returned 404), AIxploria.
If you run one of these and want to be included, send us the page and we will check it the same way.
How to choose, and how to check a link yourself
- Decide what you are buying. Launch boards buy a few days of attention. Directories buy a permanent page that people and AI assistants can find later. A followed link is a third thing, and it is the one most often oversold.
- Check one listing before you pay. Open any tool's page on the directory, right-click its "Visit website" button, choose Inspect, and look at the
relattribute.nofolloworsponsoredmeans the link passes no ranking credit; norel, or onlynoopener/noreferrer, means it is followed. - Read what "free" costs. A required badge is a link from your site to theirs. A five-month queue is five months.
- Prefer directories that state their rules in writing — price, wait time and link type. The ones that publish all three were the easiest to check, and they held up.
Where TheToolsVerse fits
We are a directory too, so here is our row, checked the same way and against our own pricing page:
| Free option | Cheapest paid | Link | |
|---|---|---|---|
| TheToolsVerse | Yes: book a launch date from 60 days out; once a person has checked it, a founder-submitted page goes live, kept out of search and linked with nofollow until an editor writes the tool up on merit | $29 Fast-track (an editor-written review page in 48 hours) | Paid listing links are marked rel="sponsored"; editor-written listings are followed |
You can submit a tool or see listing plans.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to list an AI tool on a directory?
Which AI tool directories are free?
Do AI tool directories give dofollow links?
How can I check whether a directory link is dofollow?
Is There's An AI For That free to submit to?
Data: every price, quote and link result above was recorded on 9 October 2026 from the directories' own pages and listings. Spotted a change? Email us and we will re-check and correct it.
Some links may be affiliate links. We may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.
Related Articles
Explore more guides and reviews from our experts.